Jake Saywell is smoking hot with Touch of Chilli

The penultimate day’s sport at Chepstow International was quick and competitive as riders chased glory in the small and medium grand prix classes.

A tough, technical track reduced the 70 starters in the medium 1.40m grand prix to just six for the jump-off – and it was nevertheless fast. 

Jake Saywell posted the winning time at the gallop on Touch of Chilli and despite a supreme effort on the big-jumping Salt N Peppa, Jodie Hall-McAteer could not catch the speedy pair and finished second 0.81 sec in arrears. 

Joe Fernyhough’s opening round on Calcourt Quicktime claimed third with Taisie de Gruchy in fourth on Live The Life.  The USA’s Taylor Alexander finished fifth on Lord Lucio and Ben Clark finished sixth on Valentino.

Max Routledge claimed the small tour grand prix in a hotly-contended jump-off with Ebriolita.  Seventeen of the 73 starters came forward to round two and the lead changed constantly as riders dared with ever-tighter turns.  Max was quickest of the lot, providing a deceptively quick, economical round on the Eldorado Van De Zeshoek/Concorde 10-year-old mare to win by 1.91 sec.

Ollie Tuff netted second place with the Warrant/Bergerac 10-year-old mare Esgracia ahead of third-placed Adrian Whiteway’s early effort on Anytime II.  Harry Charles slotted Exexel into fourth, Leonie Aitkenhead filled fifth on Heart-Third and Jess Dimmock finished sixth with Billy Fleance.

Kerry Brennan claimed her second big tour win of the week with Wellington M, the pair heading the 23-horse speed class with 1.51 sec to spare.  Paul Barker rode Dalton W into second with Sian Edwards and Adriarna in third.  Zoe Smith took fourth on Que Sera III with Joao Charlesworth in fifth on Hartleymanor Venus and Jake claimed sixth aboard Galaxcy. 

Georgina Round headed the 25-strong 1* gold tour 1.25m speed on Gusto, racing ahead to win with 0.35 sec in hand.  Georgia Cabb brought Uragan into second with Emily Wilson in third on Harrijen Millford.  Joao Charlesworth netted fourth on Holly Blue, Olivia March filled fifth spot on Dennis and M Evans took sixth on Flinstone De Ness.

Ronnie Jones topped the 43-entry silver accumulator with Billy Rhodes, impressively winning with more than six sec in hand.  Izzi Ryder slotted Coco Chanell into second with Alice Watson’s Fiasco TH in third.  Elloise Smit took fourth place with Quainton Sapphire ahead of Liane Smith in fifth on Meister Van Koekshof and Jodie Hall-McAteer was also on a maximum score for sixth with Goldfinger Z.

Smooth lines at a deceptively quick pace earned Holly Cooper victory in the 29-pony 148cm speed on Valentino Supreme.  Elloise Smit rode Newtown Samson into second ahead of Cleo Loizzo and Banner Girl in third.  Lila Bremner netted fourth on Lapislazuli, Claudia Moore slotted Shamrock Du Gite into fifth and Megan Li claimed sixth with Harry.

“He loves to jump,” said Holly on the 10-year-old Valentino Supreme, winner of the HOYS Foxhunter in 2018.

Tabitha Kyle easily switched from riding 128cm ponies to piloting the rangy Grennanstown Sarco Luxhill to victory in the 23-entry children-on-horses speed class.  Tabitha took advantage of the Irish-bred year-old’s long stride to win with 3.32 sec to spare.  Aimee Jones jumped into second on Zoverla with Eleanor Simpson in third on My Lucky Day.  Jasmin Clark took fourth on Renkum J’Adore, Chloe Lemieux rode Freya into fifth and Eleanor also picked up sixth with Galinka VDL.  


Text and Photos © Jumping Around

Please reload


© 2015 JumpingAround.co.uk 

  • Facebook App Icon
  • Twitter App Icon
  • Google+ App Icon