Claire Beecroft jumps to the top in Spain

Claire Beecroft scored her second win in 24 hours with Vanda Cartier in Oliva Nova, Spain. 

Fifty-eight contended the bronze 1.30m two-phase with Claire securing the win by 1.12 sec on the 13-year-old Lord Z/Rubert R mare.  Tom Hollins claimed seventh on How About Now and Laura Jackson was 12th with Gloria.  Sophie Stockdale guided Hella into 14th, Tess Carmichael took 16th on Berlin’s Kojak and Maja Burnell slotted Carnaval Komombo into 17th.

Sophie claimed victory in the bronze 1.40m final on Grauffs Clear Round.  The 35 starters were reduced to 13 for the jump-off, Sophie and the Clearway 11-year-old jumping to the top to win by 1.45 sec.

Chloe Winchester posted a good double clear in the world ranking 1.45m grand prix with Konstop to take fourth place.  Fifteen of the 52 starters contended the jump-off with Chloe and the Fierro Hof Ter Zeedycke/Toulon nine-year-old finising 2.13 sec behind the winner, The Netherlands’ Daan van Geel on Djam.  

Tess Carmichael slotted the Van Gogh 10-year-old E.Harley into second in the 49-horse bronze 1.20m speed 1.09 sec behind the pace.  Natasha Dunsdon jumped into sixth on Bridge Town and Alicia Store posted the steadiest of the clears for 17th on Uranie.

Natasha guided the Chianti’s Dream nine-year-old Captain Morgan EW into fourth in the bronze 1.10m two-phase 2.73 sec off the pace.  Alicia on Capellini II and Rhiannon Lawrence aboard Reveur De Illonoise returned double clears for ninth and 11th.

Tony French eased the Argentinus/Kolibri 11-year-old Arkol into fifth in the 26-entry gold 1.30m speed eight sec behind the winner.  Christina Gachoud finished seventh on ESI Hazel.

Alexandra Thornton netted sixth in the 51-entry gold 1.40m speed with the Chacco-Blue 13-year-old Charielle 2.55 sec off the winning time.  Thomas Roche jumped Tincabell into seventh, Ruby Fryer was eighth on Didante and Christina finished 12th on Empire Van Wuitenshof.



Brits took the top two places in the small tour 1.40m grand prix as Lucy Townley went head-to-head in the two-way decider with Jane Annett.

Lucy got the upper hand on Emmylou to take the win with a 0.71 sec advantage over Jane on Billy Tudor.  Lucy also finished fourth with four faults in round one on Billy Kodak. 

William Funnell claimed second in the world ranking 1.45m grand prix on Billy McCain.  Again, only two reached the jump-off as three othe riders left all the fences intact but came home on one time fault in the 36-strong class and William was pitted against Luxembourg’s Charlotte Bettendorf.  But the lady was quicker on Irish Van De Bisschop to win by 2.26 sec, William taking second on the Cevin Z/Cruising 11-year-old.  

Joseph Stockdale guided Union Jack into fourth in the 16-strong small 1.30m speed almost 10 sec behind the winner.  And Joseph finished fifth in the big tour 1.30m speed on Tornado Des Monts more than nine sec off the pace.  Lucy was also clear on Billy Kat for seventh. 

Julie Slade headed the five-horse jump-off of the small 1.10m on Billy Gogo with 1.50 sec to spare.  And Julie rode Nicholas 55 into second in the 11-horse small 1.20m two-phase 0.47 sec behind the pace.  Four faults in the second phase dropped Andrew Saether and Baika De L’Abbaye into sixth.   



The decision to compete the 10-year-old former broodmare Casalli Z (Cascall/Cassini I) when she didn’t fall in foal this year has paid dividends for Danny Dunne as the consistent mare has picked up good money in Valencia, Spain.  And the pair claimed second in premium 1.20m speed three sec off the pace.  


Karl Robins fell out of contention in the 1.45m grand prix with four faults in the first round to put G CVamille HBF into 12th place.

Madeleine Kellett took third and fourth in the seven-strong jump-off of the premium 1.10m with double clears on the Warrant six-year-old I-Bless and the Lancer III 14-year-old SHW Early Dawn nine sec off the pace.  Four faults in the jump-off dropped Grace Brown into fifth and sixth on Lanfre and Carlton De St Eloi.   


Photos © Jumping Around

Please reload


© 2015 

  • Facebook App Icon
  • Twitter App Icon
  • Google+ App Icon