Laura Renwick races to a win in Vilamoura

Laura Renwick claimed victory in the feature 1.45m on the Vilamoura Atlantic tour with the home-bred Arkuga. 

Only eight of the 50 starters made their way into the jump-off but none were a match for Laura aboard the Arko eight-year-old Arkuga – out of Laura’s former top speed mare Beluga (by Heartbreaker) – and the pair won by 0.19 sec.  Emma Stoker produced a steadier double clear for fourth on the Cadenskt eight-year-old Cool Cash and Olli Fletcher notched up an uncharacteristic 11 faults on KBIS Caicos to take eighth.

Six riders were denied a jump-off chance after coming home on time faults, including Douglas Duffin with Quidam B Z and Leo Lamb on Kardentox Van Het Gevahof for 10th and 12th.

Laura eased Bintang into fourth in the 41-strong 3* 1.40m speed, the Tangelo Van DE Zuuthoeve/Orlando 13-year-old jumping an easy clear to finish almost five sec behind the winner.  Josie Symons slotted Quidde Du Buisson Z into eighth with Laura Mantel on Charlie Swanston’s Stafford ESC in 10th.  Douglas Duffin on Lankas and Will Fletcher’s Emmerton posted the steadiest of the clears for 13th and 14th while Douglas’ second ride Fan lowered one rail to drop from a possible second to 15th.

Graham Babes jumped to the top in the 1.35m accumulator with Glencoe, the Chellthago Z/Numero Uno eight-year-old holding off all 28 challengers to take the win by 0.15 sec.  Stephen Lohoard slotted Dino into seventh and Douglas also scored a maximum for 16th on Linares BG.

Howard Ephgrave posted another British win in a good day for the Union Jack, heading the 1.20m speed on Felton, the Clinton/Heartbreaker nine-year-old claiming a 0.40 sec victory.  Arabella Prior finished fourth on Friso with Will Lewis seventh aboard Hot Blue, Abbie Summers was ninth on Acajous Il Faut just ahead of Rebecca Moseley with Dexter X in 10th, Elliott Dowler was 11th riding Dante and Olli Fletcher’s steady clear on Willie Wonka LVS Z finished 16th.  


Photos © Jumping Around & courtesy Vilamoura EC

Please reload


© 2015 

  • Facebook App Icon
  • Twitter App Icon
  • Google+ App Icon