James Smith claims a win in Lier

February 17, 2019

James Smith topped the 2* 1.30m two-phase with new ride of one month For Ever in a 74-horse class in Lier, Belgium. 

The pair were smooth and quick, the nine-year-old Carambole/Ahorn mare taking the win by 0.97 sec.  Chris Smith guided the Triomphe De Muze/Kannan 17-year-old Coriander Van’t Vennehof – a former ride of Keith Shore – into fourth and Sarah Lewis picked up 11th on Doonaveeragh Emma.

Joe Fernyhough was a fraction from victory in the 2* 1.35m speed with Calcourt Quicktime, the Westpoint Quickfire/Larino nine-year-old finishing just 0.36 sec off the pace in the 44-strong class.  Chloe Winchester eased the Berlin 10-year-old Sea Coast Exellentie into sixth with Sarah Lewis and Kvint in 11th.


Louise Whitaker has been nothing but consistent at this show and again finished second with Brendon Stud’s Special Warrior in the 1.40m two-phase section B.  Sixty-one contended here with Louise and the Warrior/Caretino Glory nine-year-old mare stopped the beam 1.04 sec behind the winner, Belgium’s Gilles Thomas on Edison Van Schuttershof.  Nicola Barry posted a steady double clear on Sovereign Equestrian’s Darien II for 21st.

Helen Tredwell claimed fifth and sixth in the 1.40m two-phase section A, finishing 1.47 sec off the pace on the Zavall VDL/Monaco nine-year-old Funnycan and coming close on second ride, the Unbelievable Darco 13-year-old Sebastian VII, for sixth.  Annabel Shields finished 10th on Creevagh Carisma in the 62-strong class.

Helen clinched third and fourth in the 11-horse jump-off of the five and six-year-old with six-year-olds Luikan (Luidam/Elanville) and Iowenna (Denzel Van’t Meulenhof/Monaco) just over half a sec behind the winner.

Paul Bevan jumped into third with Winterfield in the 31-entry 1.20m speed, the Balou Du route/Carthago 10-year-old finishing half a sec behind the winner.  Tess Carmichael returned a steadier clear for 12th on Chisinau W Z.


Photos © Jumping Around

Please reload


© 2015 JumpingAround.co.uk 

  • Facebook App Icon
  • Twitter App Icon
  • Google+ App Icon