Toby Dean jumps to the top at POYS

On the final day at the hugely popular Pony of the Year Show, Toby Dean celebrated victory in style in the JC grand prix. Finding the tightest options with the 10-year-old Atlantic Hope, he won impressively with more than three sec in hand.

Ella Ricci and Access Bill jumped into second spot in this eight-pony decider with Perdi Digby taking third on Brosna Blosson and Georgia Wareham in fourth aboard Sharelle. Sinead Cox netted fifth place on Lislan Cruising Lady and sixth was awarded to Pippa Mulready on Granby Majesta.

Emily Notman returned triumphant in the talentspotters 128/138cm, topping a hotly-contended nine-pony jump-off with Take A Chance II. All nine jumped clear again, and it was all about the clock. The Irish-bred 16-year-old Chance answered Emily’s every call to seize victory in fine style, winning with 0.64 sec to spare.

Lily Smith and Holly VI had to settle for second spot with Harriette Jones on Milou Delagrange in third. Daisy McKinlay slotted Spot the Go Jo into fourth with Isabella Snowden on Bingo Bong in fifth and Orla Walshe’s Apache Brave in sixth place.

Georgie Marriott outpaced all her rivals in the novice grand prix to take victory on the 10-year-old Murthwaite Boy Blue. The pair tackled the 21-strong jump-off with gusto to win by 0.71 sec.

Neve Gill and Red Hot Chilli Stepper claimed second with Francesca Mellor on Carramore Dot Com in third. Izzi Ryder pushed Cuilin Dun into fourth with Eloise Burden on Beech Hill Arthur in fifth and sixth going to Macy Wallis Gunbowla Carraghy Grey – just two sec separating the top six.

Perdi Digby is enjoying a great two weeks with her ponies and just 10 days after heading the Blue Chip JC/JA championship on Kayleighs Star, she jumped to the top in the Intro grand prix. On this occasion she rode the Irish eight-year-old Cullion Lass to win by just 0.08 sec in the 20-strong jump-off. Nine posted double clears with Chloe Warnham and Ballylee Boy took second just ahead of third-placed Saskia Mohan aboard Tiperonic. Isobel Stenning and Expats Commodore JP Jones claimed fourth with Philippa Cunnington on Too Hot to Trot in fifth and Liddy Lelievre Quale took sixth on Maricadae.

Violetta Beach faced stiff opposition in a hotly-contended Prelim grand prix with 22 in the jump-off, but she kept a cool head to cross the line with just 0.04 sec in hand – it was enough to take the title on the seven-year-old Forlan. Elizabeth Baily-Addy guided Krunchie into second and Harriette Jones on Blackfield Mackenzie claimed third. Charlotte Beldam jumped into fourth on Malog Gwynfor with Nina Campbell on Orchids Yana in fifth and Sadie Hancock picked up sixth place Louis II.

Lily Morris claimed victory in the Mini grand prix, guiding the nine-year-old mare Ynys Toyah into an unbeatable lead. Sarah Proudley took second with Real Cool Dude and Elizabeth East picked up third riding Nota Bene. Harley Eighteen popped Millhouse Little Girl into fourth with Ryan de Sousa’s Arrogan Emily TR in fifth and Emily Irvine sixth aboard Little Blue Peep.

Sharing first place in the 11 and under classic was Lucy Spittle on Redsail Daisy, Rebecca McFarlane with Beyond Belief and Crystal White aboard JS Phoenix. Keira Bromley on Glenairley Miss Moneypenny shared fourth spot with Lily Scott-Garrett and My Miss Dynamite.

Mia Grey steered The Tank II into the top spot of the Prelim classic with Hadley Clarke on Isla to Boogie in second and Anna Ball’s Oakmeade Saffron third. William Lawrence jumped Danygaer Bachgew Back into fourth with Jolie Pierce fifth on Bobby Burns and Ellen Ray aboard Galways Talk of the Town in sixth.

Lucy Spittle landed the mini classic on Barham Maestro with Olivia Trist taking second aboard Montana Dawn with Ryan de Sousa in third on Whistletown Blue Belle. Crystal White took fourth on Wood Perkers Little Pumpkin ahead of fifth-placed Imogen Gale and Isabella Saunders Cook in sixth on Another Victory.

Photos © Jumping Around