Holly Miller and Chris Smith are off to Hickstead

Holly Miller and HHS Dramarko topped the final winter B and C qualifier to qualify for Hickstead at Morris Equestrian centre’s development classic.

Seven of the initial 30 tackled the jump-off with Holly on the eight-year-old mare Dramarko claiming a 2.29 sec victory.

Chris Smith guided the eight-year-old Warrior/Caretino Glory stallion Warriors Glory into second to ensure of a trip to Hickstead and a place in the Royal International final. Charlotte Arnold missed out by just 0.04 sec and took third on Quinu de Pravia and Chris also picked up fourth place on Bono L.Carla Bowlam was fifth on Capriool III with Declan Irvine’s Mystic Independence sixth and James Whitaker took seventh aboard Mersley Ezri.

Annabel Shields outpaced all to top the winter 1.35m on the Mr Blue/Royal Feu 14-year-old Wet Wet Wet to secure qualification to the Addington Manor spring championships. Half of the initial 16 starters accessed the jump-off, with Annabel galloping away with the win by 1.09 sec. Johnathan Dixon took second with the Contender/Argentinus 15-year-old Continio III with Paul Barker guiding Happy Boy into third. James Smith claimed fourth on Quattro 27 with Keith Shore and Mystic Hurricane taking fifth with the steadiest double clear and Sandy McLean eased Warhol Wulfslection Z into sixth.

A winner of day one, Paul Barker continued on his successful run, doubling up with 1.30m and 1.25m wins. Only 16 started in the 1.30m speed but Paul made short work of the track, winning by an incredible 11 sec on the Lux Z 12-year-old Lux Fabulous and also picked up fourth on Sandors Legacy II. Alex McHattie took second on the 14-year-old mare Sonata with Rodney Jongchapps in third on new ride Monsoon Monday, a Montender eight-year-old previously ridden by Dan Moseley and Philip Spivey. Johnathan Dixon rode into fifth and sixth on Zaligra H and Camona I.

Forty-six contended the DDS Demolition winter 1.25m, but Paul dismissed all rivals to take the top two places. The 12-year-old Sandors Legacy came to the fore here, proving 0.65 sec faster than second-placed U2 II (Peter Pan/Wolfgang). Declan Irvine eased Keeford Carousel into third with Lucinda Stewart’s Cancun II in fourth and Kerstin Deakin in fifth aboard Sunsolde. Kelly Connor-Baillie took sixth on Cleopatra XI and taking the final two Blue Chip championship qualifying places was Al Yaqub with Cassago and Annabel Brown’s Sun View Star.

Al Yaqub topped the 1.15m on the Quartz II Adelheide Z/Zandor Z eight-year-old Quito du Buisson Z, winning by 0.78 sec. Paul took second on U2 II with Carla Bowlam filling third spot on Belisimo II. Chris Smith guided Kingstar into fourth, Alexander Laird took fifth on Big Spender and Lisa Crocket rode into sixth with Zacharias.

Photos © Jumping Around