Beth Vernon steps up the pace on the Spanish sunshine tour

Beth Vernon jumped into third on Moneybroom Dancer in the seven-year-old B section speed on the Spanish sunshine tour in Vejer de la Frontera.

The Irish-bred Je T’Aime Flamenco/Ekstein gelding finished just a fraction of a second behind the winner under Beth’s guidance, 0.69 sec in arrears.

Douglas Duffin guided the Clarius mare Moonface JX into fifth with Graham Gillespie on Fortuna ES in eighth. David Wingrove posted a steadier clear on Freestyler for 11th and Ireland’s Derek McCoppin was also clear for 13th on WKD Aimez Moi.

Joe Whitaker and the home-bred Locarno daughter La Mona – out of Joe’s former grade A mare Desdemona – claimed third in the seven-year-old section A speed, 1.78 sec behind the pace. Pippa Goddard eased No Name into fifth and Joanne Whitaker was also clear to take 11th on Mill River.

And Joe claimed two of the top three places in the six-year-old B section two-phase. He topped the class on the Checkpoint de Lison Fairy Tale, winning by 0.49 sec, and took third aboard the Baltic VDL mare Gallicia, 1.20 sec between the two. Matt Sampson rode Cristo Beech into eighth and Robert Bevis jumped into 13th on Gerko III van de Zeilhoek. Kayleigh Watts was also double clear for 19th on Rocabella.

Brits filled three of the top four places inthe six-year-old A section, but the win went to France and Alix Ragot on Baby Boom O Moulin. Alison Barton was 2.87 sec behind for second on Genesis (Carambole/Julio Mariner) with Jessica Crosby in third aboard Harvey and Jess Dimmock on Billy Fleance in fourth.

Lance Whitehouse guided Whitesparke Pepper into seventh with Kate Whitaker’s Val de Vauxelles in eighth and Leo Lorimer in 11th on Lui-Jo VLS. David Wingrove took 14th on Grandeur III and Jake Saywell was 17th aboard Galaxcy. Also jumping double clear was Anna Wilks (L Artiste de Toxandra), Ellen Whitaker (Lilly Van T Kiezelhof) and Spencer Roe (Gambler B).

Laura Robinson eased Medusa van de Kooldries (Diarado/Landjonker) into third in the five-year-old, 3.44 sec behind the winner. And Laura also jumped a steadier round on H. Millfield Tobias for 17th. Samantha Kettle took 19th on Kongkong VDO and also returning penalty-free was Louis Simmons (Action Z), Pippa Goddard (Madagascar Dwerse Hagen), India Payne (Pina Colada Z), Jess Dimmock (Vamoose), Donald Whitaker (Cool Mister), Anna Wilks (Dauwdruppel T&L Z), Emily Elliott (Holliday) and Danny Dunne (Happyness and TJ Jolene).

Photos © Jumping Around