Joe Whitaker just misses out on victory in the Spanish sunshine tour's small grand prix

Joe Whitaker was in contention for the Spanish sunshine tour’s small grand prix title on Lavarno, but was pipped at the post by the Netherlands’ Henk van de Pol on Flugel Van T Palmenhof.

Eleven of the 44 jumped round one clears, but Henk took charge of the jump-off and although Joe chased hard on the 10-year-old Locarno daughter Lavarno, he missed the target by 0.94 sec. Joe’s sister Ellen eased the up-and-coming Arena UK Winston (Waldo van Dungen/Hamilton Tropics) into fifth with a good double clear and Ireland’s Richard Howley faulted in the second round to drop to 11th on Calmond.

Alice Palmer topped the seven-year-old B section with Essenar Crixius (Luidam/Ard VDL Douglas) with 0.53 ec in hand. Thomas Roche took fifth on Tincabell, 2.09 sec behind Alice. Thomas Lloyd finished sixth on Revel with Beth Vernon in ninth and 12th aboard Hashtag and Moneybroom Dancer. Danielle Farnsworth slotted Firestone II into 14th with Chris Moorhouse in 15th on Castle Rock and David Wingrove in 19th on Freestyler.

Also posting double clears was Danny Dunne (For Killy), Anna Wilks (Knock Out van’t Paradijs), Derek McCoppin (WKS Aimez Moi), Douglas Duffin (Moonface JX) and Graham Gillespie (Fortuna ES).

Kayleigh Watts jumped into second in the seven-year-old A section 1.75 sec behind the pace on Colton Playtime, a gelding by Dokkum de Rialfo and out of the European pony gold medal winning mare Colton Maelstrom. Lance Whitehouse eased Bazento into seventh with Kayleigh also picking up 14th place on Kilbarron Rue. Joe Whitaker was right behind in 15th on La Mona and Jake Saywell finished 16th on Arakan.

Also double clear in this two-phase class was Pippa Goddard (No Name), Joanne Whitaker (Mill River), Chloe Winchester (Firefly W), Jake Saywell (Darco Native) and Donald Whitaker (Veintiuno).

A total of 74 six-year-olds jumped clear over the two sections, including Georgie Crumley (Khaled OL), Joanne Whitaker (Gerton), Kayleigh Watts (Princess Warrior and Rocabella), Joe Whitaker (Black Pearl Leone, Fairy Tale and Gallicia), Thomas Lloyd (Castillan), Rosie Gunn (Jagerbomb), Robert Bevis (Gerko III van de Zeilhoek), Georgia Distefano (Good Girl), Alison Barton (Genesis), Spencer Roe (Gambler B), Jake Saywell (Galaxcy), Kate Whitaker (Val de Vauxelles Z), Ellen Whitaker (Lilly Van T Kiezelhof), Jessica Crosby (Harvey), Christie Tamarin (Garanco S), Danny Dunne (Golden Touch B and Gin Fizz), Leo Lorimer (Lui-Jo VLS), India Payne (L Espoir Opaline VD Caatshoeve) and Lance Whitehouse (Whitesparke Pepper).

And 55 five-year-old also returned penalty-free.

Photo © Jumping Around