Richard Howley is top man on the Spanish sunshine tour

Ireland’s Richard Howley claimed a commanding victory in the top-billed class of the day on the Spanish sunshine tour, heading the big tour 1.45m on Calmond.

Seventy contended this speed class with Richard the only one to break the 60 sec barrier to take the win on the Holsteiner 10-year-old by Clarimo by a handsome 4.44 sec. Robert Whitaker eased the Colman-sired Catwalk IV into fourth with Billy Twomey on Kim Barzilay’s home-bred Je T’Aime Flamenco eight-year-old Kimba Flamenco in sixth.

Tim Wilks slotted Quelbora Merze into eighth with Richard Barton’s Donata in ninth. Ireland’s Derek McCoppin jumped Zaire into 12th and Morgan Kent took 19th on Dolores.

Also jumping clear was Jess Dimmock on Cybell II, British-based Swede Angelie von Essen with Newton Abbot and Harriet Nuttall on A Touch Imperious.

Chris Moorhouse jumped to the top in the seven-year-old section B speed on Castle Rock (Je T’Aime Flamenco/Diamond Serpent), winning by the narrowest of margins – just 0.01 sec – from Ireland’s Mark McCauley on Foot Loose. Georgie Crumley eased Cotoki (Catoki/Contender) into fourth with Ireland’s Chris Megahey in 11th on Fuego Balia. Alice Palmer took 13th and 19th on Essenar Crixius and Boogie IV with Beth Vernon in 15th on Hashtag and Graham Gillespie taking 16th on Calvaro’s Up to Date. David Wingrove on Freestyler and Chris Megahey on Fardence also jumped clear.

Joe Whitaker is in flying form. He commandeered the top two places in the six-year-old section B, winning on the Checkpoint de Lison daughter Fairy Tale and taking second aboard the previous day’s winner, the French-bred L’Arc d’Triomphe-sired Black Pearl Leone, 1.59 sec separating the two. Rosie Gunn was 0.72 sec behind for third on Jagerbomb. Kayleigh Watts took 18 th on Rocabella and also jumping clear was Chloe Winchester (Corofino’s Grace), David Wingrove (Grandeur III), Kayleigh Watts on second ride Colton Bandit and Matt Sampson (Cristo Beech).

And Jessica Crosby headed the six-year-old section B with Harvey, winning by an impressive 4.50 sec. Danny Dunne claimed fifth and sixth on Gin Fizz and Golden Touch B with Antonio Marinas Soto in ninth on Miryel and Jake Saywell 10th on Galaxcy. Ellen Whitaker was 14th on Lilly Van T Kiezelhof and Lance Whitehouse claimed 18th with Whitesparke Pepper. Also jumping clear was Robert Bevis (Gerko III van de Zeilhoek), Spencer Roe (Gusto), Alison Barton (Genesis), India Payne (L’Espoir’s Opaline VD Caatshoeve), Alice Palmer (Glamour Boy) and Christie Tamarin (Garanco S).

Due to the heavy entries, the five-year-old was split with Leonie Aitkenhead winning one on the Heartbeat/Churchill mare Heart Third. Alice Palmer took third on the Casanova-sired Murphy Hof Ter Zeedycke and Sally Hopkinson eased Chilli into fifth with Jess Dimmock sixth on Vamoose. Jenny Thompson on Medoc de Toxandria and Kelly Shannon with Prince van de Waterhoeve both finished seventh in their respective sections, and Pippa Goddard took eighth and 10th on Iron Man TW and Hadesh VDS. Laura Robinson on H Millfield Tobias claimed 11th and Georgia Distefano finished 12th with Dincky Toy Z.

Also posting clears was Pippa Goddard (Madagascar Dwerse Hagen), Sally Hopkinson (Art Action Z), Abbe Elliott (Celtic Dream PSS Z), Danny Dunne (Happyness and Hutchinson), Anna Wilks (Dauwdruppel T&L Z and Hornesch), Samantha Kettle (Hongkong VDO), Donald Whitaker (Cool Mister and Handstand), Emily Elliott (Holliday) and Louise Simmons (Action Z).

Chloe Winchester claimed sixth on Firefly W in the seven-year-old section B, some seven sec behind the winner. Lance Whitehouse took 11th and 12th on Whitesparke Blanko and Bazento with Jake Saywell in 13th on Darco Native and 16th aboard Arakan. Joe Whitaker eased Billyjean and La Mona into 18th and 19th and also jumping clear was Antonio Marinas Soto (Faya Sao Miguel), Donald Whitaker (Veintiuno), Joanne Whitaker (Mill River) and Pippa Goddard (No Name).

Photos © Jumping Around