Alison Barton leads the way on the Spanish sunshine tour

Brits filled three of the top four places in the Spanish sunshine tour’s big tour A1 1.30m with Alison Barton leading the way on Billy Anna. Forty-two contended this two-phase competition and James Davenport was only 0.34 sec off the winning time for second on One Endeavour. Mark Armstrong guided Daniella into fourth with Deborah Jackson on For Blondie in eighth spot. Matt Sampson posted three time faults on Gloria van Zuuthoeve for 20th.

British-based Spaniard Antonio Marinas Soto jumped to the top in the big tour A2 1.35m speed on Fleur agains a strong 51 entry. Douglas Duffin eased Chento D into second just 0.33 off the pace and Lance Whitehouse slotted Miss Belvedere into fifth.

Graham Gillespie is quickly establishing a good partnership with new ride Laverin de Saar and the pair finished third in a hotly-contended small grand prix 10-horse decider. They were 1.32 sec behind the winner, Italy’s Luca Moneta on Neptune Brecourt. Bertram Allen took second on High Valley and fellow Irishman Billy Twomey eased Eindhoven GH into fifth. Four faults in round two dropped Harriet Nuttall and Galway Bay Jed to 10th.

Billy is quickly getting to grips with Kim Barzilay’s talented Kimba Flamenco (Je T’Aime Flamenco/)and the new partnership took fourth in the big tour B 1.35m speed, jumping an easy clear to finish almost five sec behind the winner. Graham Gillespie jumped Celine into 10th and Douglas Duffin netted 17th on Casparall. Antonio Marinas Soto with Diamondloma and Harriet Nuttall on Dulf also jumped clear.

Kayleigh Watts took another win in the medium tour C 1.40m with Winde, taking the top spot by 0.81 sec. Jess Dimmock eased Cudansa M into third with Faye Adams hot on her heels for fourth with Zozo CL. Theo Simpson jumped Touch of Chilli into eighth with Jodie Hall-McAteer picking up 12th on Coquin de Coquerie Z. Donald Whitaker incurred one time fault on Just Call Me Millfield Aristoc for 18th.

Beth Vernon was just 0.03 sec off winning the medium tour B 1.35m aboard Omane des Faux, the USA’s Adrienne Dixon just pipping her on Zuidam. Also jumping clear was David Wingrove in 19 th on Carrelo ST, Spencer Roe (Con Artist) and Sally Hopkinson (Etahgravin).

Derek McCoppin finished half a sec in arrears of the winner for second in the medium tour A 1.30m aboard the consistent Whiterock Lucky Lady. Kayleigh eased Escudo into fourth with Simon Crippen Atlanta VIII in fifth. Pippa Goddard and Jucatan II took 12th, Anna Wilks slotted Elizabeth into 13th and Isabelle George produced the steadiest clear on STS Lloyd for 17th.

Abbe Elliott (nee Burchmore Eames) landed a one-two in the small tour C 1.30/1.35m with Casti Aneira and Booming Blue Z, almost six sec separating the two. Theo Simpson slotted Alvin Only into fifth with Richard Jenkinson’s Culto in seventh. Thomas Roche took 11th on Chance, Georgia Distefano finished 17th on Cassia DS and also posting clears was Georgie Crumley (Renkum Centre Star), Kieran Masters (Tiziano du Tillard) and Callie Chant (For Robin).

Jake Ward was another to take the top two places, riding Falbella de Messitert and Frederick VII to land the small tour A 1.10m in commanding style. Rachel Howell made it a Brit top three with third on Sienna and Caroline Corke took sixth aboard Electro Fortuna. Emma Howell finished seventh on Mary III, Victria Delville-Cutts took eitgth with Just Olympia, Charlie Hamilton netted ninth on Princess of Monaco and Yasmin Russo claimed 12th on Carracasca B.

Louis Simmons took sixth in the small tour B 1.20m aboard Dice, almost five sec in arrears. Elliott Dowler and Chilas stood eighth with Louise Stoner in 13th on Oscar Zee and Kate Whitaker 14th on Hickstead AEG. Isabelle George was 15th riding Jaliska van de Heide and also posting clears was Annabel Lomas (Vraiecocotte Berence and Ferndale Special K), Thomas Lloyd (Camelot 120), Emily Elliott (Mateo van Overis Z), Lauren McCarthy (Darcy), Elliot Dowler (For Gotti), Laura Robinson (Argeneeka), Kelly Shannon (Kira Van T Vennehof and Klever Boy van het Bontehof), Georgia Distefano (Fijkje), Georgie Crumley (REnkum rock and Roll), Joanne Whitaker (Pioville D Or) and Rachel Howell (Utopia X).

Photos © Jumping Around