Graham Gillespie claims another win on Laverin de Saar on the Spanish sunshine tour

It was another day, another win for Graham Gillespie as his new ride Laverin de Saar continued her run of good form on the Spanish sunshine tour. The Lavarin/Testarossa 13-year-old mare – first in the 1.40m just 24 hours earlier – took a slender 0.12 sec win in the big tour B 1.35m speed.

Harriet Nuttall claimed second on the Irish-bred Silver Lift to make a Brit one-two. Beth Vernon guided Lotus into seventh with Leonie Aitkenhead taking 14th on Clane K. Also jumping clear was Jake Saywell (Havina van de Roshoeve), Ellen Whitaker (Evita W), Douglas Duffin (Casparall) and James Davenport (Caluna Z).

Harriet was best Brit in the small grand prix – won by Ireland’s Bertram Allen on High Valley – taking seventh on Galwaybay Jed 3.60 sec in arrears.

Derek McCoppin headed the big tour A1 1.30m speed on the Ard VDL Douglas/Touchdown 12-year-old Whiterock Lucky Lady, commandingly more than four sec faster than fellow Irish rider Emily Turkington on Lissangle Luxzavella. Brits filled the next two places, with Harriet in third on Highland Cruiser and Alison Barton taking fourth aboard Billy Anna. Robert Bevis (Radioactive II) took 15th, Leonie Aitkenhead (Jimmy Mack V Berkenbroeck) claimed 18th and Graham Gillespie (Celine) jumped into 19th. Also clear was Laura Robinson (Rearcross Quality Cruize) and Christie Tamarin (Jacinthe van Dorperheide).

Brits claimed five of the top six places in hard-fought big tour A2 1.30m but were denied a win by 0.31 sec, Robert Bevis taking second on the Whitesnake/Ahorn eight-year-old Etude. Beth Vernon and Omane des Faux took third, Matt Sampson’s Ebolensky jumped into fourth with Douglas Duffin on Chento D in fifth and Jess Dimmock on Billy Tortilla sixth.

Jordan Thompson pushed Eclips V into ninth with Millie Allen 14th on Balou Star, Chloe Winchester and Sheyenne 27 taking 15th, Abbe Elliott 17th aboard Contender B and Joe Whitaker in 19th on Diola. Also jumping clear was Deborah Jackson (Giljan VD Legeweg) and Christie Tamarin (Grupo Prom Alandia S).

Kayleigh Watts claimed a double of victories. She jumped to the top in the medium tour C 1.40m, taking the win by 1.03 sec on the Numero Uno/Top Limit 14-year-old mare Winde. Danielle Farnsworth guided Cornascriebe Ferro into eighth in the 56-strong class.

And Kayleigh also headed medium tour B 1.35m on the eight-year-old mare Fashion V, winning by 2.73 sec. Theo Simpson took fourth on Touch of Chilli with Spencer Roe immediately behind in fifth on Con Artist. Tim Price was ninth on The Precious One and Anna Wilks also jumped clear with SEIC Cristana.

Ellie Hall-McAteer took third in the small tour C 1.30m on the consistent Kannan daughter Dazzle II, 1.39 sec behind the winner. Faye Adams and Ebriolita settled for fifth with Theo Simpson and Alvin Only in seventh, Jenny Thompson eighth aboard Eliseo and Richard Jenkinson’s Culto taking ninth.

Alice Palmer slotted Fanadwest Dancer into fourth in the small tour B 1.20m, 6.31 sec behind the winner. Thomas Lloyd claimed seventh on Camelot 120 with Callie Chant in 11th on For Robin and Elliott Dowler in 12th and 13th aboard For Gotti and Chilas.

Jake Ward continued on his winning assault with another win in the small tour A 1.10m on the Randi 10-year-old Frederick VII, taking victory by the slenderest of margins, just 0.06 sec. Brits dominated the top 16, with Annabel Lomas in third on Vraiecocotte Berence and sixth aboard Ferndale Special K, Emma Howell took fourth on Mary III, Yasmin Russo was ninth riding Carracasca B, Rachel Howell claimed 10th on Sienna, Charlie Hamilton jumped into 11th on Princess of Monaco and Kelly Shanon was also clear for 16th on Kira van T Vennehof.

Photos © Jumping Around