Douglas Duffin is best Brit in the seven-year-old on the Spanish sunshine tour

Douglas Duffin eased the Clarius/Couleur Rubin mare Moonface JX into third in the seven-year-old A section, finishing 0.89 sec behind the winner, Ireland’s Emily Turkington on Jay Gatsby. Lance Whitehouse was right behind for fourth on Argento/Quincy Z stallion Bazento. Also jumping clear was Donald Whitaker (Veintiuno), Graham Gillespie (First Colt and Calvaros Up to Date), Lance on second ride Whitesparke Blanko and Sally Hopkinson (Fadograaf). Joanne Whitaker and Mill Rover picked up one time fault.

Joe Whitaker netted fourth in the seven-year-old B section on the home-bred La Mona – by Locarno and out of Joe’s former grade A mare Desdemona –finishing more than three sec behind the winner. Danielle Farnsworth slotted the Indoctro/Corland gelding Firestone II immediately behind in fourth with Pippa Goddard on No Name in 10th. Also jumping double clears in this two-phase class was Alice Palmer (Essenar Crixius), Kayleigh Watts (Colton Playtime), Joe Whitaker (Billy Jean), Beth Vernon (Hashtag) and Chris Megahey (Fardence).

A total of 37 jumped posted clears in the six-year-old A section. Brits included Spencer Roe (Gambler ), Deborah Jackson (Swing de Landetta Z), Rosie gunn (Jagerbomb), Jessica Crosby (Lilly van T Kiezelhof & Harvey), Harriet Nuttall (Carla X), Danny Dunne (Golden Touch B), Anna Wilks (La Force de Tamerville), Lance Whitehouse (Whitesparke Pepper), Jess Dimmock (Billy Fleance) and Ellen Whitaker (Quorti). Fifty-four six-year-olds jumped clear in the section B class to share equal first, including Alice Palmer (Glamour Boy), Pippa Goddard (Zoon van London and Toki II), Georgie Crumley (Khaled OL), David Wingrove (Grandeur III), Joe Whitaker (Fairy Tale and Black Pearl Leone), Matt Sampson (Glitter), Tim Price (Starcato Dell Usignolo), Jake Saywell (Galaxcy), Samantha Kettle (Linnessa Hof Ter Zeedycke) and Kayleigh Watts (Princess Warrior).

In the five-year-old, 78 jumped double clear – Sally Hopkinson (Art Action Z and Chilli), India Payne (Pina Colada Z), Spencer Roe (Hero vd Akkerhoeve), Jenny Thompson (Medoc de Toxandria), Pippa Goddard (Iron Man TW, Madagascar Dwerse Hagen and Hadesh VDS), Louise Simmons (Action Z and Hakuna), Simon Crippen (Budgie), Abbie Crippen (Hevantos), Leonie Aitkenhead (Heart third), Danny Dunne (Happyness), Tim Wilks (Elton van het Exelhof Z), Isabelle Cork (Hampshire), Donald Whitaker (Handstand), Georgia Distefano (Dincky Toy Z) and Christie Tamarin (Grupo Prom Hanoi).

Photos © Jumping Around