Madison Heath is a winner at South View

On day one, Madison Heath missed out on Hickstead qualification by one. On day two, she made no such mistake, skilfully guiding her 20-year-old Scope Festival winner Sonas Barney into the top spot to ensure a finalist place at the Royal International Horse Show.

Winner the previous day and current Hickstead champion Shaunie Greig claimed second on Buttons Two. Having already gained qualification to defend her crown, Shaunie handed day two’s final qualifying place to third-placed Iwan Carpenter on Follow Jazzy Lady.

Iwan and the seven-year-old Follow Jazzy Lady are no strangers to the daunting Hickstead arena, they jumped in last year’s final.

Aiming for better luck next time was Marnie Green on Koraika in fourth, Rosie Collins in fifth aboard Thyme Flies and sixth-placed Ella Derbyshire with Thelma’s Gift.

New combinations claimed the RIHS top two tickets on South View’s second day, with Amy Morris (pictured at Hickstead on Madonna) steering Koda into the number one spot from Henry Squibb (pictured at HOYS with Pussy Cat Doll) and Major Jack – a super-consistent 16-year-old for Tom Francis-Jones in 2016, jumping at HOYS, Hickstead and Olympia.

Just missing out on Hickstead was Isabella Snowden on third-placed Laithehill Paisley, Izabella Rogers in fourth on Whinney Lass and Aimee Jones aboard Tarrywood in a Pickle in fifth.

Megan Trott headed the Graham Heath 128/138cm handicap with the 11-year-old mare Romanno Mayflower, pushing Toby Fry and Bubble Pop Electric into second. Izabella was third aboard Whinney Lass and Abbie Latham took fourth on Noahs Lady. Jake Gibson claimed fifth on Llettycrudd Cardi Bach and sixth went to Owen Carpenter with Brookhall Glimpse.

Tabitha Kyle jumped into the top spot in the British Showjumping 128/138cm handicap special on the six-year-old Playboy Van De Zoetewei with the only double clear. Grace Shuddall Hughes took second on Solcum Donatella with Izabella Rogers in third on Essenar Jinja Ninja. Jessica Cunnington took fourth with Mojo II and Charlie Atkinson picked up fifth on new ride Fast Fun – a big winner in 2016 for Faye Sutton.

Photos © Jumping Around